Monona County, Iowa GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Monona County, Iowa)

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Monona County

Guide to Monona County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Monona County, Iowa
Map of Iowa highlighting Monona County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Founded January 15, 1851
County Seat Onawa


County Information

Monona County, Iowa Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1880 1856 1880 1840 1858 1860

County Courthouse


Parent County

1851--Monona County was created 15 January 1851 from Pottawattamie County.  It was attached to Harrison County prior to organization 3 April 1854. County seat:  Onawa [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses


Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Crawford • Harrison • Ida • Woodbury • Burt County, Nebraska • Thurston County, Nebraska

Monona CountyCrawford CountyShelby CountyHarrison CountyWoodbury CountyIda CountySac CountyCarroll CountyAudubon CountyCass CountyPottawattamie CountyPlymouth CountyCherokee CountyBuena Vista CountyDakota CountyThurston CountyBurt CountyWashington CountyDodge CountyCuming CountyDixon CountyUnion CountyIAMonona.JPG




Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Monona County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at ($).


  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Moorhead, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at ($).



Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories 

Local histories are available for Monona County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.




Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Monona County, Iowa Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Online Probate Records

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Monona - Probate records.


Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..

Societies and Libraries

Monona County Genealogical Society
Box 91
Smithland, Iowa 51056

Monona County Historical Museum / Loess Hills Historical Society
101 12th Street
PO Box 382
Onawa, IA 51040-0382

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [ online FHC director for a nearby family history center.


Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Monona County, Iowa Genealogy
State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material - results of "monona county" placed in search box
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "monona county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "monona county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Monona County, Iowa Genealogy
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($) Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($) Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Monona County, Iowa Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Monona County, Iowa Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search Monona County, IA Genealogy Forum Monona County Message Board


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 225-231. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 October 2015, at 20:12.
  • This page has been accessed 7,638 times.