Monroe County, Wisconsin GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Monroe County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.United States Wisconsin Monroe County
|Monroe County, Wisconsin|
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Monroe County Courthouse
202 S K Street
Sparta, WI 54656
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage death, and land records;
Clerk Court has divorce, probate, court and naturalization records;
Veterans Service Office has military records 
For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses
Places / Localities
1855 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index images to the 1855 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
1885 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index images to the 1885 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
Church History and Records
- Records of Trinity Lutheran Church, Cashton, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Crime and Criminals
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Land and Property
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Wisconsin
- Family Maps of Monroe County, Wisconsin (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military History and Records
Civil War service men from Monroe County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Monroe County.
- - 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies A and G
- - 10th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies H and I
Naturalization and Citizenship
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
- Monroe County, WI History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 758 Monroe County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 03:16.
- This page has been accessed 5,292 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More