Montgomery County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Montgomery County

Guide to Montgomery County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Montgomery County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 14, 1818
County Seat Montgomery City
Courthouse
Address Montgomery County Courthouse


211 E 3rd Street
Montgomery City, Mo 63361-1956
Phone: 573.564.3357
County Website

Contents

County Courthouse



Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1864,
divorce and court records from 1886; Probate Judge
has probate records from 1890[1]

History

Parent County

1818--Montgomery County was created 14 December 1818 from St. Charles County. County seat: Montgomery City [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Audrain  • Callaway  • Gasconade  • Lincoln  • Osage  • Pike  • Warren

Montgomery CountyWarren CountyLincoln CountySt. Charles CountySt. Louis CountyJefferson CountyWashington CountyFranklin CountyGasconade CountyCrawford CountyMaries CountyMiller CountyOsage CountyCole CountyMoniteau CountyCallaway CountyBoone CountyAudrain CountyRandolph CountyMonroe CountyRalls CountyPike CountyJersey CountyGreene CountyCalhoun CountyPike CountyMOMontgomery.JPG


Resources

African American

  • 1865-1881 - Montgomery County Colored Marriage Index 1865-1881. Batch M515482 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Cemeteries

Church

The Immaculate Conception Catholic church is located in Montgomery City. Their website is found at: http://www.mcicparish.org/. The church dates to 1861 but parish records for births,marriages and deaths begin to be recorded in the mid 1860's. There is a cemetery onsite with a fairly complete plot map for burials. The cemetery is run by a separate organization but the parish secretary knows how to reach them. The parish does not allow the public to view their records but the priest was willing to look up information as time permits.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Montgomery County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Maps

Momontgomery.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Montgomery County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


  • Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Jefferson City newspapers from the early 1900's covering local news that sometimes included residents from Montgomery County communities.
  • http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/ has The Montgomery Tribune which was published from 1900-1910 online. It can be searched using single words or combinations of words. It covers news local to Montgomery county and the surrounding areas.

Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1865-1881 - Montgomery County Birth Index 1865-1881. Batch C515482 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
  • 1863-1873 - Montgomery County Marriage Index 1863-1873. Batch M515481 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Historical Society

Montgomery County Genealogical/Historical Society
112 West Second St.
Montgomery City, MO 63361
Phone: (573) 564-2730

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Montgomery County, Missouri. Page 403 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 March 2014, at 19:34.
  • This page has been accessed 4,539 times.