Montgomery County, Virginia GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Montgomery County Virginia ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
|Montgomery County, Virginia|
Location in the state of Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Montgomery County, Virginia Courthouse
Montgomery County Courthouse
1 East Main Street
Christiansburg, Virginia 24073-3027
Clerk Circuit Court has birth, and death records 1853-1871
marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1773
Montgomery County, Virginia History
The county was named after Brigadier-General Richard Montgomery (1738-1775). Montgomery died during the Revolutionary War in the failed 1775 invasion of Canada.
1776--Montgomery County was created 7 October 1776 from Fincastle and Botetourt Counties. Fincastle County was formed from Botetourt County in 1772, and was abolished in 1777.
County seat: Christiansburg 
For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
- Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890
For a list of record loss in Virginia counties see: Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses
Montgomery County, Virginia Places/Localities
Montgomery County, Virginia Genealogy Resources
Montgomery County, Virginia Genealogy cohabitation records are available online.
Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
- Dickenson, Richard B. Entitled! Free Papers in Appalachia Concerning Antebellum Freeborn Negroes and Emancipated Blacks of Montgomery County, Virginia. Washington, D.C.: National Genealogical Society Bookstore, 1981. FHL Collection 975.5785 F2d
- Heinegg, Paul. "Montgomery County Personal Property Tax List, 1787-1812," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
- Heinegg, Paul. "Montgomery County Register of Free Negroes, 1823-1847," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
- Kegley, Mary B. Free People of Colour: Free Negroes, Indians, Portuguese and Freed Slaves. Wytheville, Virginia: Kegley Books, 2003. FHL Collection; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online . [Includes information from Montgomery County.]
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Virginia Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 - browse collection at FamilySearch; free.
Additional Bible records include:
- Tombstone Transcription Project Montgomery County - cemetery transcriptions - USGenWeb
For tips on accessing Montgomery County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.
1790 - Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.
1800 - Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.
- 1810 Census of Montgomery County, Virginia. Beverly, W. Va.: Crickard, 1969?, 1979. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Douthat, James L. 1840 Mountain Empire of Virginia Census. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2001. FHL Collection 975.5 X2d 1840. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. [Includes Montgomery County.]
1890 Union Veterans
- Turner, Ronald Ray. Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. Available online, courtesy: Prince William County Virginia website. [Includes residents of this county.]
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):
- Greasy Creek (1789)
- Meadow Creek (1785)
- N.F. Roanoke (1801)
- Pine Creek (1803)
- West Fork (1803)
The 10,000 name petition (dated 16 October 1776) has been digitized at the Library of Congress website. It was signed by people from all over Virginia who wanted an end to persecution of Baptists by the Established Church. Baptists and Baptist sympathizers alike signed the petition. To find your ancestor in this record, first check Hall's transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy (Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39), which is available online at Ancestry ($). It is also available in book form at the Family History Library: FHL Book 975.5 B2vs v. 35-39. Then proceed to the Library of Congress website to see the original images.
Montgomery County fell within the bounds of the New River Association.
Church of England
- Braun, Johannes, Klaus Wust and Joseph H. Meyerhoeffer. Shenandoah Valley Family Data, 1799-1813: From the Memorandum Book of Pastor Johannes Braun. Edinburg, Va.: Shenandoah History Publishers, 1978. FHL Book 975.5 K2bjo.
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):
- Burk's Fork Monthly Meeting (1800-1812)
More than 100 genealogies have been published about Montgomery County families. To view a list, visit Montgomery County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.
Land and Property
An early settlers map is available for Montgomery County. Hildebrand plots the locations of pioneers from 1750-1865. The Family History Library has a copy: FHL Map 975.5785 E7h.
Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.
- Hudgins. 1009 patents dated 1746-1891 in what is now Montgomery County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2009. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]
- Sims, Edgar Barr. Sims Index to Land Grants in West Virginia. [Springfield, Virginia]: Genealogical Books in Print, c1992. Available at FHL. [Includes Montgomery County, Virginia.]
- Crush, Charles W. The Montgomery County Story, 1776-1957. unknown: unknown, 1957. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Montgomery County, Virginia. Blacksburg?, Va.: unknown, 1907. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
French and Indian War
- Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Montgomery County veterans; see place name index.]
- Kegley, Mary B. Revolutionary War Pension Applications of Southwest Virginia Soldiers. n.p.: M.B. Kegley, 1997. FHL Collection [Includes Montgomery County pensioners.]
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Book 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Montgomery County on page 135.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
War of 1812
Montgomery County men served in the 75th Regiment.
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Montgomery County, p. 91. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Regiments. Service men in Montgomery County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Montgomery County, Virginia Genealogy:
- - 4th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company B (Fort Lewis Volunteers), Company E (Montgomery Highlanders), Company G (Montgomery Fencibles).
- - 11th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate).
- - 14th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company F (2nd) and Company G (Border Rangers).
- - 22nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Bowen's Virginia Mounted Riflemen) (Confederate). Company K.
- - 24th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (New River Grays).
- - 25th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company E and Company F.
- - 54th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies C and E (Montgomery Grays).
- - 63rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (McMahon's) (Confederate). Company D.
Records and histories are available, including:
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Montgomery County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.
Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.
Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin
Several genealogical articles with abstracts of Montgomery County, Virginia records have been published in the Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin (39+ vols., 1972-present), the journal of the Watauga Association of Genealogists. The organization has posted tables of contents for most volumes on their website. Back issues are available for purchase.The Family History Library has a complete collection FHL US/CAN Books 976.897 B2w, including Margaret W. Hougland and Betty Jane Hylton's Bulletin Subject Index: The First Thirty Years, 1972-2001 (Johnson City, Tenn.: Watauga Association of Genealogists, 2002) FHL US/CAN Book 976.897 B2w index 1972-2001.
A free index to Montgomery County, Virginia Genealogy wills and administrations (1773-1800) is available at the Library of Virginia website.
'Online Probate Links
- 1639 – 1850 Virginia Land, Marriage and Probate Records 1639-1850 at Ancestry.com — index to transcribed records, incomplete, $
Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007
- "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Montgomery County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 18, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1974):298-301. FHL Collection; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
- [1770-1773] Kegley, Mary B. New River Tithables, 1770-1773. Wytheville, Virginia: M.B. Kegley, 1972. Available at FHL.
-  The 1782 Montgomery County, Virginia Land Tax List (New River Notes) - free.
-  Fothergill, Augusta B. and John Mark Naugle. Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1978. Available at FHL. [1782 personal property tax list of Montgomery County.]
-  Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Montgomery County is included in Vol. 1.]
-  Taxables, 1787, Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin, Vol. 1, No. 2 (Summer 1972).
-  Delinquent Tax Lists, 1787, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 37, No. 3 (Aug. 1999); Vol. 38, No. 1 (Feb. 2000). Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
- [1787-1788, 1797] Delinquent Tax List, 1787, 1788, 1797 Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 37, No. 4 (Nov. 1999). Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
- [1787, 1798-1799] Delinquent Tax Lists, 1787 (sel.), 1798-99, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 34, No. 2 (Spring 1996). Available at FHL; digital version at New England Ancestors.
- [1787-1812] Heinegg, Paul. "Montgomery County Personal Property Tax List, 1787-1812," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
-  Indexed images of the 1788 Personal Property Tax List of Montgomery County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
-  Tax List, 1789, Harlan Mountain Roots, Vol. 11, No. 4 (Summer 1997).
-  Possible Family Groups from 1789 Tax List, Boone Genealogical Quarterly, [Madison, West Va.] Vol. 13, No. 2 (Apr. 1990).
- [1789-1790] Tax List, 1789-90, Lincoln Lineage, [Griffithsville, West Va.], Vol. 16, No. 4 (Nov. 1995).
-  County Tax Delinquents, 1790, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 43, No. 4 (Nov. 2005). Available at FHL.
-  Tax List, 1790, Harlan Mountain Roots, Vol. 11, No. 2 (Winter 1996).
-  Images of the 1799 Personal Property Tax List of Montgomery County, Virginia are indexed online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
-  Personal Property Tax List, 1806, A-C, Friends of Genealogy Journal, [Shreveport, La.], Vol. 7, No. 1 (1995).
-  Personal Property Tax List, 1806, Virginia Appalachian Notes, Vol. 9, No. 3 (Aug. 1985).
-  Tax List, 1800, Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 42, No. 4 (Oct. 1998); Vol. 43, No. 1 (Jan. 1999); Vol. 43, No. 2 (Apr. 1999).
-  Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Montgomery County is included in Vol. 5.]
-  Delinquent Tax Lists, 1818, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 38, No. 1 (Feb. 2000). Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
-  Delinquent Muster Tax, Capt. Osborne, 1830, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 38, No. 1 (Feb. 2000). Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
Indexes to Montgomery County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records
- 1660-1800 - Virginia Marriages 1660-1800 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1850-1860 - Montgomery County Marriages 1850-1860 (VAGenWeb) - free. Sorted by groom; sorted by bride.
Vital Record Substitutes
The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available for free online. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.
|For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.|
Montgomery County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
There are many geneological MS holdings, including full collections located at Virginia Tech Special Collections Department on the first floor of Newman Library on campus.
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Montgomery County, Virginia Genealogy Websites
- Montgomery County, VirginiaUSGENWEB.
- Montgomery County, VA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Cyndi's List
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Montgomery County, Virginia. Page 717 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 349. Digital version at Google Books.
- ↑ William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
- ↑ Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
- ↑ J.T. McAllister, Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data (Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co., 1913), 37-38. Digitized by Internet Archive.
- ↑ Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 145. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
- ↑ James I. Robertson, 4th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.F. Howard, 1982). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 1.
- ↑ Robert T. Bell, 11th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 20.
- ↑ Robert J. Driver, 14th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 47.
- ↑ Ralph White Gunn, 24th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 34.
- ↑ Dobbie E. Lambert, 25th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 106.
- ↑ George L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 54th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 91.
- ↑ Jeffrey C. Weaver, 63rd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 76.
- ↑ 15.0 15.1 15.2 15.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 24 November 2015, at 16:25.
- This page has been accessed 58,290 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News