Montpelier, IdahoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Idaho Gotoarrow.png Bear Lake County Gotoarrow.png Montpelier

Contents

Quick Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Montpelier, Idaho

City Hall

City of Montpelier
534 Washington
Montpelier, ID 83254
(208) 847-0824

Resources

Cemeteries

Index of Bear Lake County cemeteries, including Montpelier Cemetery.

Church and Church Records

Baptist Church

Current

Bible Believers Baptist Church
388 Webster Street, Montpelier, ID 83254-1019
(208) 847-0629

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Current

There are 5 wards (congregations) and one branch in Montpelier.

Historic

Many of the original records of church units are in the Church History Library in Salt Lake City. Many of the membership records covering these units from the date of their creation to about 1948 have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City or at its Family History Centers.

Episcopal Church

Historic

The Family History Library in Salt Lake City has microfilmed copies the Saint Andrews Church records (1912-1944) found in the Episcopal Diocese of Idaho.  These films can be viewed at the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its Family History Centers.

Presbyterian Church

Current

Bear Lake Community Church
134 Hillside Drive, Montpelier, ID 83254-1561
(208) 847-2628

Roman Catholic Church

Current

Blessed Sacrament
270 North 8th Street
Montpelier, ID 83220 US
(208) 547-3200

Historic

Church of the Blessed Sacrament.  The Church of the Blessed Sacrament in Montpelier kept these parish registers between 1908 and 1920. The records were kept out at Lava Hot Springs between 1920 and 1934. From 1934-1946 the name of the church changed to the Holy Ghost Mission. The headquarters of the Holy Ghost Mission was located in Pocatello, Idaho at St. Anthony's Church from 1934-1946 and in Preston, Idaho at St. Peter's Church from 1947-1956. In 1957 the name of the church was changed back to The Church of the Blessed Sacrament with the center of the parish being in Montpelier until 1963. At that time the center of the parish was moved to Soda Springs and the name of the church became St. Mary's.  The Family History Library in Salt Lake City has microfilmed these records found at the Archives of the Roman Catholic Diocese in Boise, Idaho.  They are available for viewing at the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its Family History Centers.

Directories

The Idaho State Archives has in its collection copies of city, county, state and regional directories.

Funeral Home

Matthews Mortuary
702 Clay St
Montpelier, Idaho 83254
(208) 847-0451

Geography

Montpelier is located at 42°19′13″N 111°18′13″W / 42.32028°N 111.30361°W / 42.32028; -111.30361 (42.320416, -111.303703).[1]

According to the United States Census Bureau, the city has a total area of 1.8 square miles (4.8 km²), all of it land.

History

Sixteen families settled in the spring of 1863. Like most western communities, the town name was changed numerous times. First known by Oregon Trail travelers as Clover Creek, it later became Belmont and finally was given the name Montpelier by Brigham Young after a town in his birth state of Vermont. Within the first year, businesses sprang up along the strip later known as Fourth Street. It was a choice location because of the heavy Oregon Trail "traffic". Trail travelers tell of fresh produce, dairy products and beef that were available for purchase. Learn more http://www.montpelieridaho.info/

On August 13, 1896, Montpelier was the site of an infamous bank heist that became an integral part of Bear Lake folklore. Butch Cassidy and the Montpelier Bank Robbery for more information. http://www.bearlake.org/butch.html

Newspapers

Current

News-Examiner
P.O. Box 278
Montpelier, ID 83254
Ph. 208-847-0552
email - rmoosman@dcdi.net
Weekly

Historical

The Idaho State Archives has in it collection copies of many Idaho newspapers including the following from Montpelier:

Bear Lake County news  1922:1:19-1937:9:9 
Bear Lake gazette  1985:8:10-1986:1:15  
Daily news  1920:1:20-1922:1:18  
Montpelier examiner  1896:2:29-1937:9:9  
News-examiner  1937:9:16-1994:12:21

Societies, Libraries and Museums

Bear Lake County Library
138N 6th St
Montpelier, Idaho 83254
(208) 847-1664

Websites

Montpelier, Idaho Old Photos

References


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 April 2012, at 17:42.
  • This page has been accessed 1,296 times.