Monzie, Perthshire, ScotlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Parish #382

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Monzie. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.


Contents

History

The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Monzie, as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

Year
Family History Library Film Number
Surname Indexes
1841
1042695, 1042696
none
1851
1042247
none
1861
103894
none
1871
104076, 104077
none
1881
203508, 203509
6086646 (6 fiche)
1891
208737,208739
none

The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.


Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Record Type Years Covered Family History Library Film Number
Births: 1720-1855 - baptisms 1040335item 3-4
Marriages: 1700-1706 - session book 1040335item 3-4

1728-1861 - session book 1040335 item 3-4
Deatghs: 1852-1854 - burials 1040335 item 3-4

 

Condition of Original Registers—

Indexed: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index available on computers at the Family History Library and family history centers.  The records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index.
Births: Only three birth entries April 1721–February 1727 and only one for May 1730–December 1731. After 1819 are seven pages containing irregular entries dated 1770–1825. Mothers' names are not recorded until November 1727 and often omitted 1732–1746.
Marriages: Marriages intermixed with other matters prior to 1705. No entries November 1705–January 1728. After November 1769 the record seems to be one of proclamations.
Source: Key To The Parochial Registers Of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Minutes 1691–1699, 1749–1835
Accounts 1691–1704, 1750–1864
Minutes and Accounts 1711–1749
Poors’ Money Accounts 1711–1731
Treasurers Account Book 1836–1843
Clerical Record 1839
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/654.

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.

Logiealmond United Presbyterian Church

History—
Some agriculturists pastured goats on their farms and the milk of these animals, being considered beneficial to health, caused many invalids to be drawn from different and distant places to the district in the hope of benefitting thereby. Ministers were among the number attracted there. While there, they were induced to preach to the people on account of their distance from any place of worship. They obtained supply of sermon from the General Associate Antiburgher Presbytery of Perth about 1745. Moderation granted January 1745. First church built 1751; second in 1811.
Source: Annals and Statistics of the United Presbyterian Church, by Rev. William MacKelvie, D.D. pub. 1873. Film #477618. More details are given in the source.

Records—
The extent of pre-1855 Records is unknown. No records deposited at the National Archives of Scotland.

Logiealmond Free Church

History—
The minister and practically all the congregation of the “quoad sacra” church at Chapelhill "came out" in 1843. With the consent of the proprietor they continued to use the church. The estate, however, changed hands and at Mr. Watson's translation in 1853, the new proprietor required them to leave the church. A new church and manse were erected at the village of Harrietfield in 1854.
Membership: 1848, 180; 1900, 100.
Source: Annals of the Free Church Of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D. 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details are given in the source.

Records—
Minutes 1843–1907
Deacons Court Minutes 1844–1858 - damaged by dampness
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH3/562.

Monzie Free Church

History—
The minister of Monzie, with three-fourths of the entire population of the parish, and six of the eight elders, "came out" in 1843. The manse was built in 1861. A new church was erected in 1869 on the border of Monzie, Foulis Wester, and Crieff, serving all these parishes.
Membership: 1848, 371; 900, 210.
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D., 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details are given in the source.

Records—
Family History Library Film Number
Baptisms, Marriages and Deaths, 1836–1861 0889488item 2 X
Note: The X means records have been extracted.
Other:
Minutes 1843–1900
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH3/567.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Monzie was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Dunblane until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Dunblane. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Perthshire and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Dunblane.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Perthshire. Look in the library catalog
 for the 'Place-names' of Perthshire and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.


Return to Perthshire parish list.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 September 2011, at 13:39.
  • This page has been accessed 1,713 times.