Moody County, South Dakota GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Moody County, South Dakota)

United States go to South Dakota go to Moody County

Guide to Moody County, South Dakota ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link= Dakota_Online_Genealogy_Records South Dakota
Online Records

Moody County, South Dakota
Map of South Dakota highlighting Moody County
Location in the state of South Dakota
Map of the U.S. highlighting South Dakota
Location of South Dakota in the U.S.
Founded January 8, 1873
County Seat Flandreau
Adopt-a-wiki page
Sdgwlogo2.gif This page adopted by:
SDGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Moody Co. SDGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Courthouse

Moody County Courthouse
101 E Pipestone Ave; PO Box 152;
Flandreau, SD 57028
Phone: 605.997.3181

Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1905,
burial and land records; County Treasurer has marriage
records from 1873; Clerk Court has probate records from 1890,
court records from 1905, divorce records, newspapers from 1880’s[1] [1]


Parent County

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties



Moody County Cemetery Database: Courtesy of the Moody County Historical Society, South Dakota

Fremont Township
  1. Midway Cemetery -- Midway Lutheran Church
  2. Mt Auburn Cemetery - Click here or contact Pat Walker


1905, 1915, 1925 State Censuses Unique information could include: Ethnic Background, Maiden Name, Church Affiliation Military Service

1905 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

1915 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

1925 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

   1935 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search

   1945 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search


Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about South Dakota denominations, view the South Dakota Church Records wiki page.

  • Records of Hegre Lutheran Church, Colman, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at ($).


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Moody County, South Dakota Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section South Dakota Local Histories.


Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See South Dakota Land and Property for additional information about early South Dakota land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.




Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Moody County, South Dakota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


In most counties in South Dakota, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for South Dakota, Moody then click Probate records.


South Dakota tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [ online FHC director for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog


  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Moody County, South Dakota, p.627
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 July 2015, at 04:32.
  • This page has been accessed 5,579 times.