Moore County, North Carolina GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Moore County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Moore County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Moore County Courthouse
102 Monroe St
Carthage, NC 28327
PO Box 936
Carthage, NC 28327
Phone: (910) 947-2396
Courthouse burned in 1889
registrar of deeds has birth and death records from 1913
land records from 1889 & land grants from 1784
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate and Court Records
Moore County was formed in 1784 from Cumberland County. It was named in the honor of Captain Alfred Moore of Brunswick, a soldier of the Revolution and afterwards a judge of the Supreme Court of the United States. Moore County is in the south central section of the State and bounded by Harnett, Hoke, Scotland, Richmond, Montgomery, Randolph, Chatham, and Lee counties. The act establishing the county provided for the erection of the public buildings. In 1795 an act was passed which stated that the location of the courthouse was inconvenient; it named commissioners to purchase land near the center of the county and erect a new courthouse. In 1796 an act was passed establishing Carthage on land where the courthouse was to stand. In 1803 an act was passed naming commissioners to lay out a town and build a courthouse as directed in the act of 1796. In 1806, Carthage was changed to Feaginsville. In 1818, "Feaginsville" was changed back to Carthage, and is now the county seat.
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1889--Courthouse fire destroyed most of the land records and many court records. For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses
Places / Localities
- Moore County Cemeteries
- Partial list of Bensalem Church Cemetery
- Smyrna Methodist Church Cemetery
- Long Street Church Cemetery
- Dover Baptist Church Cemetery
- Acorn Ridge Baptist Church Cemetery
- Bethesda Presbyterian Church Cemetery
- Brown's Chapel Christian Cemetery
- Cross Hill Cemetery
- Lamm's Grove Primitive Baptist Church
- Pine Rest Cemetery
- Pleasant Hill United Methodist Church Cemetery
- Tabernacle United Methodist Church Cemetery
- Tabernacle United Methodist Church Cemetery [photos]
- Flint Hall Baptist Church Cemetery [photos]
- Calvary Baptist Church Cemetery [photos]
For tips on accessing Moore County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
LDS Ward and Branch Records
Moore County Clerk of Superior Court
The Clerk of Superior Court is elected for four years and must be a resident of the county in which he or she is elected. Unlike clerks of court in other states, the Clerk of Superior Court in North Carolina has numerous judicial functions.
As judge of probate, the Clerk has exclusive original jurisdiction over matters relating to the probate of wills, and the administration of estates, including appointing personal representatives, auditing their accounting, and removing them from office if necessary. The Clerk also presides over many other legal matters including adoptions, incompetency proceedings, condemnation of private lands for public use, and foreclosures. The Clerk is responsible for all clerical and record-keeping functions of the district and superior court. In addition, the Clerk receives and disburses money collected each year from court fees and fines.
Clerk of Superior Court's Office 910-947-2396
A number of Court Records have been transcribed and are available at the following sites:
- Mary Arnold v Henry Arnold 1845
- Solomon Arnold, deceased 1846
- John Baker v John Cole 1857
- Edward Borroughs v Joseph Dunlap 1856
- James Caddell, deceased 1804
- Edward Chambers v William Farar, 1855
- Amos & Susannah Cheek, Inheritance 1811
- Joseph Cook v David Cook, 1845
- Cornelius David v Richard Oldham, et al 1808
- Delinquent Tax Seizures 1857
- Delinquent Taxpayers 1854
- Delinquent Taxpayers 1854, pt.2
- Direct Tax of 1815 & 1816
- W.W. Dye v. Archibald McFarland , 1854
- Court Records from NCGenWeb Archives
The Tidwell family of Moore County, North Carolina is discussed in:
- [Tidwell] Johnson, Charles Owen. "The Tidwell Family," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 17, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1973):3-7; Vol. 17, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1973):114-121; Vol. 17, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1973):181-186; Vol. 17, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1973):295-299; Vol. 18, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1974):35-40; Vol. 18, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1974):129-135; Vol. 18, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1974):175-182; Vol. 18, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1974):257-264; Vol. 19, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1975):39-45. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 17 (1973) - v. 19 (1975).
Moore County Register of Deeds
100 Dowd Street
Carthage, NC 28327
P. O. Box 1210
Carthage, NC 28327
Has Land Records starting from 1787; their website includes a searchable database for their records.
A number of websites have transcribed deed and land records as follows:
- Index to Moore County Grants, Vol. II
- Moore County Original Landowners
- Benjamin Caddle Land Grant 1799
- William Cole to W. W. Sears 1856
- Robert Green Land Grant 1853
- Over 500 original Moore County Land Grants
- 1835 Moore County Revolutionary War Pension list (partial)
- The Battle of Monroe's Crossroads
- The Memorial of James Campbell, 1800
- Campbell Men in the War
- Veterans Roll of Honor
- Confederate Prisoners Information
- Civil War Soldiers Buried at Bethesda Cemetery
- Moore County Confederate Veterans Roll of Honor
- Jarrett B. Graham, 30th Infantry Company H
Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
- - 1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company E
:- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company E
:- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company I
:- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company H
:- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company I
- 1861 - 1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
Moore County Clerk of Superior Court
Has wills, estate records, and all transactions having to do with the settlement of estates starting from 1783. Contact their office to verify their records and fees.
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Moore County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1783-1818 - Will Books A to F (1783-1818) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
The following websites have transcribed copies of Wills or Estate Records for Moore County:
- Archibald Black Estate
- Robert Boals, 1798
- Benjamin Britt, 1810
- Joab Cheek, 1820
- Richard Cheek, 1836
- Allin Martin, 1816
- Henry Jackson Dennis, 1890
- Lockhart Frye, 1852
- Duncan Murchison, 1836
- Duncan Murchison, 1853
- Kenneth Murchison Sr. 1834
- Druary Richardson, 1811
- William Richardson, 1805
- Peter Shamburger, 1838
- John Sheffield, 1794
- Margaret Short, 1862
- John Sinclair Sr. 1828
- Jacob Stutts, 1796
The Moore County Register of Deeds has an online searchable database for their Vital Records, including Birth, Death, and Marriage records.
- 1800 - 2000 North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1898 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909-1975 North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Moore County Marriages 1858-1865 at USGenWeb - free.
- Moore County Marriages 1858-1867
- Moore County Marriages
- 1741 - 2004 North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759 - 1979North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762 - 1969North Carolina County Marriages 1762-1969 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
- Moore County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Moore County NCGenWeb Project
- Moore County USGenWeb Archives
- Moore County Wallaces [over 35,000 individuals, 1,500 documents, 1,700 tombstone photographs and 500 individual and family photographs]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Moore County, North Carolina. Page 511 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 23 March 2015, at 21:49.
- This page has been accessed 16,424 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More