Morecambe St Barnabas, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
St Barnabas, Regent Road, Morecambe is an ecclesiastical parish and was created in 1890.
The first St Barnabas church in the West End of Morecambe was the 'daughter' church of Holy Trinity Church, Morecambe Poulton, Lancashire. St Barnabas Church built in 1890 had a corrugated iron roof and was known as a "Tin Church". The local population originally a fishing community, had expanded with the growth of tourism and the church needed enlarging
In 1891 the then Rector of Holy Trinity Church held a gigantic bazaar in the nearby Regents Park to raise money to fund the building of the new church. The bazaar started on 20th July 1891 and finished on 25th July. A total of £3000 was raised.
The planned church designed by the Lancaster architects Paley and Austin should have had a 70ft tower with a ring of eight bells. Unfortunately the tower was never built, hence the church's truncated look. St Barnabas was completed in 1898.
The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Lancashire Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/
Include here information for parish registers, Bishop's Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Poor Law Unions
Lancaster Poor Law Union,Lancashire 1924-1928
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- England Jurisdictions 1851
- Vision of Britain
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:15.
- This page has been accessed 511 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More