Morton, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Morton, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Morton, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Morton, Derbyshire
Morton Holy Cross Derbyshire.jpg
Morton Holy Cross Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Chesterfield
Registration District Chesterfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1575
Bishop's Transcripts: 1669
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alfreton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office


Parish History

MORTON (Holy Cross),  an ancient parish, in the union of Chesterfield, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 3½ miles (N.) from Alfreton with the township of Brackenfield. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Morton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Morton Holy Cross (1575) Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1577-1887

Morton Holy Cross had a chapelry which became  Brackenfield, Derbyshire parish in 1844

Derbyshire Record Office reference D886 has deposited registers Bap 1577-1973 Mar 1575-1984 Burials 1576- 1959 Banns 1754-1812, 1824-1942, 1958-1979

Non-Conformist Churches

Primitive Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241297.

Poor Law Unions

Chesterfield Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Morton on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 345-350. Date accessed: 13 May 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 12:47.
  • This page has been accessed 1,749 times.