Moss, Østfold, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Moss, Norway)

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngØstfold County Gotoarrow.pngMoss

Guide to Moss, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


Contents

Church Records

Moss clerical district contains parish records from Moss clerical district. Moss was separated from Rygge in 1790. Moss city parish was created in 1839.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1725-1932.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Moss: 1725-1877, 1910-1958

Moss / Bysoknet: 1878-1932

Moss / Landsoknet: 1878-1946

Census Records

1664-66 Census for Moss

1701 Census for Moss can be found at the Family History Libray in Salt Lake City

The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.

Østfold fylke b. 1 Moss, Onsø, Tune, og Vembe fogderi Rygge prestegjeld Rygge sogn Moss anneks Family History Library INTL Film 122982 Item 1

1801 Census for Moss

1845 folketelling for Moss prestegjeld (Østfold) Family History Library INTL Film 1694662 Item 8|1845 and 1855 Census for Moss can be found at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City

1855 folketelling for Moss prestegjeld i Østfold fylke. Oppgir gårdsnavnet, folkene (i orden av husfaren, kona, barn osv.) kjønn, alder, næringsvei m.m.

The 1845 census for Moss clerical district in Østfold county. Includes the farmnames, people in household (usually in the order of head of household, his wife, children etc.), sex, occupation, age and other miscellaneous information.

1865 Census for Moss

1875 Census for Moss

1885 Census for Moss

1900 Census for Moss

1910 Census for Moss

1701 Census (manntall) for Moss can be found at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City film # 122982 item 1

1845 Census for Moss can be found at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City film # 1694662 item 8

The 1865, 1875, 1900, 1910 census is also available online in a searchable database at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Farm Names

16 Aas nordre 27 Aavangen 7 Alby 6 Bergersborg 19 Bevøen 19 Bile 4 Braaten 35 Dillingøen 31 Enderød 13 Fuglevik 33 Gashus med Vittingsrød 39 Gjerrebogen med Krafoss 3 Grimsrød 7 Grønli 10 Guldholmen 2 Helgerød 29 Kambo 9 Kase 27 Kile 20 Kippenes 22 Kjellandsvik 20 Kjellingsvik 30 Kolsrød 25 Krosser 6 Kubberød med Odderød 27 Mosseskogen 18 Nes vestre 36 Nore 28 Nøkkeland 26 Orkerød 37 Patterød 12 Ramberg 11 Refsnes 5 Reir 20 Renneflot 24 Rosnes 8 Rød 34 Rød 14 Røre 21 Skallerød 23 Skipping 38 Torbjørnsrød 1 Torderød 10 Tronviken 34 Vannum 32 Vannumsundet

Genealogy

Vogt, Adler, d.1948: Byfogd David Vogt og hustru Marie Magdalene (Lene) Vogt født Juhl

Biographies of David Vogt born 2 May 1793 and died 6 June 1861. His wife was Marie Magdalene (Lene) Juhl and was born 1797 and died 1889. Also includes biographies of their parents: Niels Nilsen Vogt, 1755-1809, and Abigail Monrad, 1757-1812; Lorents Juhl, 1761-1833 and Charlotte Wurtzen, 1758-1813

FHL 921.481 V868v

Minneskrift: utgitt for familien i anledningen av 100-årsdagen for Johan og Jørgen Herman Vogts fødsel 23 Juli 1836-23 Juli 1936; A review of the Vogt family in Norway on the 100th anniversary of the birth of the twins John and Jørgen Herman Vogt born 23 July 1836

FHL 929.2481 V868  To view a digital version click here

Huitfeldt-Kaas, H. J.: Om familien Brochmann i Norge A genealogy of the Brochmann family in Norway. Includes a pedigree chart of the Thome family beginning with JohanThome born in Switzerland and died in 1752 in Moss, Østfold, Norway

FHL 929.2481 B781 To view a digital version clickhere

Olsen, Edvard Gustave, 1908- Autobiography of Edward Gustave Olsen (b 1908), who was  born in Portland, Oregon, married twice, served with theNational Conference of Christians & Jews. Taught at universities inNew York, Texas, and California, was a Fulbright consultant in Rhodesia, and retires to Brookings, Oregon. Includes some ancestry in England and Norway, with those in Norway living in the parishes of Fredrikstad, Glemminge, and Moss, Østfold, Norway

FHL 921.73 OL8

Vogt, Adler: Personalia fra det gamle Moss Biographies and genealogy from Moss

FHL 948.21/M1 D3

Busch, Anthon C.: Slegten Fuglesang fra Moss med de cognatiske grener Angell, Diesen, Eitzen, Fuglesang (yngre slegt), Heiss, Parr og Schøyen

Finne-Grønn, S. H.: (Stian Herlofsen), 1869-1953: Slegten Sverdrup, kortfattede genealogiske-personalhistriske oplysninger med prospekter og portrætter

Thorne, Christian August, 1871: Slekten Thorne fra Eiker, Drammen, Moss, og Son

Slekten Voigt 1672-1937

Arnesen, Martinl Sverdrup, J. (Johan), 1816-: Stamtavle over slægten Sverdrup

Juell, F. D.: Den Thaulowske families slægtregister i de siste 200 aar med 2 anhang-- nr. 1 om skotlænderen Andrew Christie og hans efterslægt, og nr. 2 aftryk af Fru Anne Cathrine Røbkes testamenter

Probate Records

1771-1882: Probates may be found in Moss judicial district.

1742-1872: Probates may be found in Moss City judicial district.

1718-1824: Clerical probates may be found in Øvre Borgesyssel Deanery.

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 December 2015, at 01:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,784 times.