Mossley, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Mosley, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
MOSSLEY, a chapelry in Astbury parish, Cheshire; on the river Dane, adjacent to Staffordshire and to the North Staffordshire railway, 1½ mile E of Congleton. It was constituted in 1846. Post town, Congleton. 
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.
Mossley Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's =FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|Mossley Holy Trinity (1858) Online Records|
|FS PR's|| NONE
| FS BT's
Mossley was chapelry in Astbury, created parish 1858.
Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
Parish registers for Mossley (near Congleton), 1845-1886 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: P213/1/12, P213/2/1-4.
|Parish Registers: Mossley||Film|
| Baptisms, 1845-1886.
|| 2104846 Item 11|
Bishop's transcripts for Mossley, 1857-1891
| Bishops Transcripts: Mosley
| Baptisms, 1857-1860, burials, 1858-1859, baptisms, burials, 1872, burials, 1871-1872, baptisms, 1871-1872. baptisms, burials, 1873-1876, baptisms, 1877-1878, burials, 1877-1878, baptisms, 1879-1891, burials, 1879-1891.
|| 1647429 Item 5|
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
- Congleton (1837-1937)
- Macclesfield (1937-74)
- Congleton & Crewe (1974-88)
- South Cheshire (1988-98)
- Cheshire West (1998-2007)
- Cheshire (2007-09)
- Cheshire West & Chester (2009+)
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.
- ↑ John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 24th January 2014.
- This page was last modified on 7 July 2015, at 00:17.
- This page has been accessed 564 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News