Moulton, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Moulton, Cheshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Moulton

Guide to Moulton, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Parish History

MOULTON, a township, in the parish of Davenham, union and hundred of Northwich, S. division of the county of Chester, 3 miles (S.) from Northwich. [1]


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church Records

Moulton Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Moulton St Stephen Parish (1877) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1878-1909

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for Moulton, 1878-1973. Cheshire Record Office call nos.: P213/1/12, P213/2/1-4.

Parish Registers: Moulton Film
Baptisms, 1878-1973. Marriages, 1878-1950Marriages, 1882-1932.
2104846 Items 5 - 10

Bishop's transcripts for St. Stephen the Martyr's Church, Moulton, 1878-1904. Cheshire Record Office: EDB 152.

Bishops Transcripts: Moulton
Baptisms, 1878-1883, 1886, 1885-1886, 1884, 1889, 1888, 1887, 1890-1904.
1647521 Item 5

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Primitive Methodists
  • Independent/Congregational

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Northwich (1837-1974)
  • Vale Royal (1974-98)
  • Cheshire Central (1998-2007)
  • Cheshire (2007-09)
  • Cheshire West & Chester (2009+)

Poor Law Unions

  • Northwich

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Web Sites


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 353-356.Date accessed: 24 January 2014.



Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 July 2015, at 00:12.
  • This page has been accessed 804 times.