Mower County, Minnesota GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Mower County, Minnesota)

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Mower County

Guide to Mower County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Mower County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Mower County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 20, 1855
County Seat Austin
Courthouse
Address Mower County Courthouse
201 1st St NE
Austin, MN 55912
Phone: 507.437.9456
Mower County Website

Contents

County Information

Mower County, Minnesota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1870 1870 1870 1850 1856 1877

County Courthouse

Clerk District Court has birth and death records from 1870,
marriage records from 1865, divorce and court records
from 1900 and probate records from 1856.
County Recorder has land recorders. [2]

History

Parent County

  • 1855--Mower County was created 20 February 1855 from Rice County and formally organized 1 March 1856.

County seat: Austin [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

  • Adams
  • Austin
  • Brownsdale
  • Dexter
  • Elkton
  • Grand Meadow 
  • Le Roy
  • Lyle
  • Mapleview
  • Racine
  • Rose Creek 
  • Sargeant
  • Taopi
  • Waltham


 

 Townships    

Adams | Austin | Bennington | Clayton | Dexter | Frankford | Grand Meadow | Lansing | Lodi | Lyle | Marshall | Nevada | Pleasant Valley | Racine | Red Rock | Sargeant | Udolpho | Waltham | Windom |

All of Mower County's land is divided into 20 townships that are 36 square miles (six miles north to south X six miles west to east) in area. Mower County is five townships wide (a total of 30 miles west to east) and four townships from north to south (a total of 24 miles). The arrangement of the townships within the county is shown at wikipedia.com.


Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


Lutheran

Austin

  • Records of Lutheran Church, Austin, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[4]

Bear Creek Lutheran Church, Grand Meadow

  • 1867-1956 - Records of Bear Creek Lutheran Church, Grand Meadow, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[4]

Evanger Lutheran Church, Sargeant

  • Records of the Evanger Lutheran Church, Sargeant, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[4]

Little Cedar Lutheran Church, Adams

  • Records of Little Cedar Lutheran Church, Adams, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[4]

Red Oak Grove Lutheran Church, Austin

  • Records of Red Oak Lutheran Church, Austin, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[4]

Court

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Mower – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Mower County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mnmower.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Mower County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Mower County.

- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry (Mounted Rangers), Company M.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Company B.
- 3rd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company C.
- 4th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company K.
- 9th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company C.
- Brackett's Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Company D.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mower County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Online Probate Records

Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Societies and Libraries

Mower County Historical Society
1303 6th Ave. SW
Austin, MN 55912
Phone: (507) 437-6082
Website

Mower County Genealogical Society
PO Box 145
Austin MN 55912-0145
Phone: 507 437-6082

Mower County Historical Society
P.O. Box 804
Austin 55912

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 385-403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mower County, Minnesota page 366, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 January 2016, at 04:12.
  • This page has been accessed 12,426 times.