Muker, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Muker, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Reeth PLU|
|Parish registers: 1638|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1636|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Catterick|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
MUKER, a chapelry, in the parish of Grinton, wapentake of Gilling-West, N. riding of York, 20 miles (W. by S.) from Richmond. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans in the hamlet of Keld, 3 miles to the west of the village.
Muker is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1719 from Grinton, Yorkshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Angram, Thwaite, Birkdale, Calvert House, Calverthouse, Frith, Ivelet, Keld and Thorns, Oxnop, Rampsholme, Rash, Ravenseat, Salton, Saltron, Spring End, Springend, Stonesdale, Tan Hill, Tanhill, and Birckdale.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of MUKER exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FMP= FindMyPast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|MUKER CHAPELRY (1635) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Muker and comprising the whole ancient parish of Grinton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the GRINTON PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464230.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 14 May 2015, at 17:41.
- This page has been accessed 3,859 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News