Muston, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Muston, Leicestershire)

England Gotoarrow.pngLeicestershireGotoarrow.pngLeicestershire Parishes

Guide to Muston, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Muston, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Framland
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Grantham PLU
Registration District Grantham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1580
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Framland
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MUSTON (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Grantham, hundred of Framland, N. division of the county of Leicester, 5½ miles (W. by N.)from Grantham. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Muston like this:

MUSTON, a village and a parish in the district of Grantham and county of Leicester. The village stands on the river Devon, adjacent to the boundary with Lincolnshire, near the Grantham canal, 1½ mile E S E of Bottesford r. station, and 5½ W by N of Grantham; and has a post-office under Nottingham. There is a Wesleyan chapel.

The poet George Crabbe (1754-1832) moved to Muston Rectory from  Stathern, Leicestershire in 1789, remaining as incumbent of Muston and of West Allington, Lincolnshire until 1792. His 'Natural History of the Vale of Belvoir' was a pioneering study of the district.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Muston, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Muston, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1561-1878
1561-1878
1561-1878

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Muston Bap 1561 - 1877 Marr 1561 - 1995 Bur 1561 - 1988

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438741.


Poor Law Unions

Grantham Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 359-362. Date accessed: 14 September 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 June 2015, at 20:34.
  • This page has been accessed 1,285 times.