Mutford, Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Mutford, Suffolk)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes 

Guide to Mutford, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Mutford, Suffolk
Mutford St Andrew.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Mutford and Lothingland
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Mutford and Lothingland PLU
Registration District Mutford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1681
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lothingland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

History

MUTFORD (St. Andrew), a parish, in the incorporation and hundred of Mutford and Lothingland, E. division of Suffolk, 3½ miles (E. S. E.) from Beccles. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Mutford, St Andrew is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich and the county of Suffolk. 

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to Mutford and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Church Records

Mutford, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Mutford, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1681-1749

IGI 1558-1679
NBI

1681-1901
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Civil Registration

Mutford is in Mutford district. To search an index of Mutford district records go to FreeBMD. For further details refer to the Suffolk Civil Registration article. Civil Registration began in 1837.

Census Records

There are census records available for Mutford from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Mutford Censusin the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.

Poor Law Unions

Taxation records

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 359-362. Date accessed: 02 October 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:41.
  • This page has been accessed 2,715 times.