Mwnt, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Mynt, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngMwnt

A guide to genealogy in Mwnt, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Mwnt (or Y Mwnt) is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

The redundant version of Moel y Mwnt and Mount can be seen in some older documents.

Contents

History

MOUNT (MOEL Y MWNT), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of TROEDYRAUR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 3½ Miles (N.) from Cardigan. This parish, which is situated at the south-western extremity of the county, and on the shore of Cardigan bay, derives its name from a lofty hill of conical form near the church. At the base of this hill is a large sand bank, covering a great number of human bones, which are occasionally visible when the sand is scattered by the wind, and are supposed to be the remains of a body of Flemings, who, having effected a landing on this part of the coast, were encountered by the natives, and repulsed with great slaughter. The surrounding scenery is destitute of beauty, and the only views possessing any interest are those up the Vale of Teivy, and those extending over the bay, which is occasionally enlivened by the passing of vessels. The coast is here very bold and precipitous and the sounding within a short distance of the land is from four to seventeen fathoms. The church, dedicated to the Holy Cross, and situated near the sea, is an ancient edifice, consisting of a nave and chancel, but is not distinguished by any architectural details.[1]

For more information see Mwnt at Genuki

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464305.

Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

  • Mwnt at Vision of Britain

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 238-242. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 January 2014, at 21:37.
  • This page has been accessed 411 times.