Nayland, Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Nayland, Suffolk)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes 

Guide to Nayland, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Nayland, Suffolk
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Babergh
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Sudbury PLU
Registration District Sudbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557; For more records see Stoke by Nayland
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sudbury
Diocese Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NAYLAND (St. Stephen), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of Sudbury, hundred of Babergh, W. division of Suffolk, 6 miles (N. by W.) from Colchester, 16 miles (S. W. by W.) from Ipswich, and 57 (N. E.) from London. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1] 

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to the parish and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Nayland, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5][6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
Nayland, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1558-1753

FMP 1557-1900 1558-1812 1558-1812
NBI

1558-1900
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474634.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation records

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 366-368. Date accessed: 02 October 2013.
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Suffolk Baptism Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  5. 'Suffolk Marriage Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  6. 'Suffolk "Early" Burial Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,344 times.