Nether Cerne, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Nether Cerne, Dorset)

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Nether Cerne, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Nether Cerne, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cerne, Totcombe and Modbury
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Cerne
Registration District Dorchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1694
Bishop's Transcripts: 1731
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whitchurch
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office


Parish History

CERNE-NETHER, a parish in Dorchester district, Dorset; on the river Cerne, 4¾ miles E of Maiden-Newton railroad station, and 5½ N by W of Dorchester.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Nether Cerne, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
1690-1799 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1813-1919 Ancestry[4] 1813-1969 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1716-1744
1716-1744 findmypast[7]

Nether Cerne, Dorset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[8]
Nether Cerne, Dorset Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241338.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 09 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 24 June 2012.
  7. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,', accessed 5 July 2012.
  8. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 12:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,135 times.