Nether Denton, Cumberland GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Nether Denton, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Nether Denton, Cumberland|
|Poor Law Union||Brampton PLU|
|Parish registers: 1703|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1667|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
DENTON, NETHER (St. Cuthbert), a parish, in the union of Brampton, Eskdale ward, E. division of Cumberland, 5 miles (E.N. E.) from Brampton. 
If you live in Cumbria then you will have access to a variety of resources; however, for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers. Refer to Nether Denton and Cumberland in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.
Parish registers for Nether-Denton, 1813-1962
Bishop's transcripts for Nether-Denton, 1667-1907
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241281.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Nether Denton on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 22 May 2015, at 14:55.
- This page has been accessed 1,425 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News