Netherfield St John the Baptist, Sussex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex

Contents

Parish History

Netherfield St John the Baptist was formed from the Ancient Parish of Battle, Sussex; the hamlet of Netherfield is part of the civil parish of Battle in the Rother District of East Sussex.

The church was consecrated in 1856 and the history of the church is described at Sussex Parish Churches St John the Baptist

The church of St John the Baptist has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Netherfield includes information about the former Netherield Congregational Chapel dating from 1892 and now demolished Netherfield Congregational Chapel

See also Battle Wikipedia



Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was part of Battle Registration District from 1837.

Ceertiificates may be obtained from

East Sussex County Council

The Register Office Town Hall Grove Road Eastbourne BN21 4UG

Phone: 01323 464780

Fax: 01323 431386

Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Netherfield St John the Baptist, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[1]
Netherfield St John the Baptist, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
SOPC Undefined

Undefined
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:44.
  • This page has been accessed 698 times.