Netherton St Andrew, Worcestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Netherton St Andrew, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Netherton St Andrew, Worcestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Halfshire
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Dudley PLU
Registration District Dudley
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pershore
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NETHERTON, a district chapelry in the united parishes of St. Thomas and St. Edmund, Dudley, union of Dudley, Lower division of the hundred of Halfshire, Dudley and E. divisions of the county of Worcester. Here are places of worship for Wesleyans, Baptists, Methodists of the New Connexion, and Primitive Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Netherton St Andrew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
NETHERTON ST ANDREW PARISH (1842) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1844-1901
1845-1904
1842-1903


Netherton St Andrew is searchable under Dudley for FREG purposes. To search for the Dudley records inputted by Staffordshire FreeREG - select County as Staffordshire & within place select Dudley Staffs. Although most of Dudley is within Worcestershire - many of it's records are for people living in the surrounding Staffordshire Parishes. The Parish itself was always completely surrounded by Staffordshire and has been incorporated with other Staffordshire Parishes for Civil Registration purposes since 1837.

Dudley St Andrew Netherton for earlier registers see Dudley St Thomas, Worcestershire Dudley Archives has deposited Parish registers Bap 1844-1973 Marr 1845-1976 Bur 1842-1968.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464210.


Poor Law Unions

Dudley Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place. England Jurisdictions 1851

Vision of Britain

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 14 October 2013.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 May 2014.
Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and HeraldryAdd any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.</ref>

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 16:49.
  • This page has been accessed 1,760 times.