Netteswell, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Netteswell, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Netteswell

Guide to Netteswell, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Netteswell, Essex
St Andrew Netteswell Essex.jpg
St Andrew Netteswell Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Harlow
County Essex
Poor Law Union Epping PLU
Registration District Epping
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1802
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harlow
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Netteswell, or Nettleswell, is a parish, with a village, in Epping district, Essex; 1 mile S of Burnt-Mill railway station, 2 miles S of the river Stort at the boundary with Hertfordshire, and 2 miles S S W of Harlow. The post-town is Harlow.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Netteswell, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
Netteswell, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1558-1961 1558-1957 1558-1954
FREG 1711-1894 1711-1836 1711-1812

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office St Andrew and St Stephen Tye Green ( now St Andrews Community Learning centre)

See also St Michael and All Angels

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241368.


Poor Law Unions

Epping Poor Law Union, Essex

Parish overseers' accounts survive for the periods 1719–53 and 1817–36. Between 1719 and 1753 one overseer presented accounts. In most years from 1740 to 1753 two overseers were nominated. Several overseers served for two years or more, not always consecutively. A widow served in 1729 and another in 1730. Between 1818 and 1824 one overseer accounted. Thomas Rickett, overseer from 1822, was in 1825 appointed salaried assistant overseer, and continued to present the accounts until 1830, when John Rickett succeeded him. One churchwarden and one constable were nominated annually between 1818 and 1836.
The annual poor rate averaged £38 between 1719 and 1735, and £64 between 1736 and 1753. There was a sharp increase in the 1740s, to a peak of £97 in 1751. The cost of poor relief was £93 in 1776, and averaged £112 in the three years 1783–5. It reached £422 in 1801, but during the remainder of the decade averaged £260. Between 1817 and 1836 the overseers' annual expenditure, including the county rate, averaged £283.
The parish had two poorhouses, both at Tye Green. One had been built on waste land granted in 1599 by Sir Jerome Weston, lord of the manor. The other, lying farther west, by Copshall common, was given in 1746 by Mary Martin, lady of the manor. Each house apparently contained two dwellings. In 1825 they accommodated a total of 10 adults and 7 children. Mrs. Martin's house was later an infant school.
Between 1719 and 1753 the number of paupers receiving weekly doles rarely exceeded 6, though it reached 11 in 1750. In the period 1813–15 the number was usually between 17 and 20, while some 20–25 received occasional relief. In 1830 there were only 10 weekly pensioners, with doles ranging from 2s. 6d. to 7s. At all recorded periods the vestry also provided relief in clothing, fuel, rent subsidies, boarding allowances, sick pay, and medical care. Throughout the period 1817–36 the vestry employed a part-time doctor. In 1819 it resolved that paupers should be employed by the larger ratepayers on the roundsman system. Only one parish apprenticeship was recorded.
In 1836 Netteswell joined Epping poor law union.

From: 'Parishes: Netteswell', A History of the County of Essex: Volume 8 (1983), pp. 206-213. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=63854&strquery=netteswell Date accessed: 26 January 2011.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales(1870). Adapted: date accessed 19 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 11 September 2014.
  3. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 4 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:49.
  • This page has been accessed 3,811 times.