Nettleden, Buckinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Nettleden, Buckinghamshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Nettleden, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Nettleden, Buckinghamshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cottesloe
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Berkhampstead
Registration District Berkhampstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1687
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Mursley
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office


Parish History

NETTLEDEN, a chapelry, partly in the parish of Ivinghoe, and partly in that of Piglesthorne, union of Berkhampstead, hundred of Cottesloe, county of Buckingham, 3 miles (N. N. E.) from Berkhampstead.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Nettleden, Buckinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Nettleden, Buckinghamshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1729-1814 1729-1814 1790-1804 1790-1804 1744-1814 1744-1814

Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241215.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Nettleden on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 372-374 Date accessed and adapted 25 June 2013.
  2. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' findmypast, accessed 4 March 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 May 2015, at 13:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,219 times.