Nevada CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  U.S. Census  Gotoarrow.png  Nevada  Gotoarrow.png  Census

Contents

Tips
  • If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
  • Photocopy each ancestor's census. Identify where you found it.
  • Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
  • On the family group record show each person's census listings.
  • Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.


  • For a list of the exact date of each federal census, click here.

Online Nevada indexes and images

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Nevada 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - Link Link Link - -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link Link
1930 indexes Link - - - Link Link Link Link Link Link
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1920 indexes Link - Link  Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link Tran-
script
Link - Link Link Link - Link
1910 indexes Link - Link  Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link Tran-
script
Link - Link Link Link - Link
1900 indexes Link Soundex Link Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link Tran-
script
Link - Link Link Link - Link
1880 indexes Link Soundex Link Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link Tran-
script
Link - Link Link Link - Link
1875 indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - - - - - -
1870 indexes Link - Link  Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link Tran-
script
Link - Link Link Link - Link
1860[8] indexes Link - Link - Link Link Link Link Link Link
images - UT
Terr
Link
Tran-
script
- UT
Terr
Link
UT
Terr
Link
UT
Terr
Link
UT
Terr
Link
- Link
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay


Federal population schedules

Microfilm images

Federal Census Microfilm Available from the Family History Library
1940 N/A 1910 1870           
1930 1900 and index 1860
1920 and index 1880 and index 1850


Federal Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives
1940 N/A 1910 T624 1870 M593    
1930 T626 1900 T623 and Soundex T1050 1860 M654  
1920 T625 and Soundex M1566 1880 T9  and Soundex T753 1850 M432    

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Nevada, click here

Federal non-population schedules

Online indexes and images

Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Nevada

Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) Pay
Year Type Record Search Heritage Quest Ancestry FHL Ancestry Library Ancestry Home
1890 Veterans - - Link Link Link
1880 Mortality - - Link Link Link
1870 Mortality - - Lost Lost Lost
1860 Mortality (Humboldt and St. Mary's counties missing) - - Link Link Link

Microfilm images

Indian census rolls, Ft. McDermitt, 1910-1923 Indian census rolls, Fallon, 1909-1924
Kaibab Paiute indian census, 1910-1911 Pyramid lake Paiute tribe tribal roll


The mortality schedules are at the Nevada Historical Society.

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Nevada, click here.

State, territorial, and colonial censuses

Nevada took several censuses in the years between the federal censuses. The dates are listed below. State census records may have columns that were different or more unusual than those found on federal censuses. The responses and years of coverage may give additional information on the family.

  • 1875 Counties: All[9] The 1875 state census and index are available at the Nevada State Library and Archives, University of Nevada—Reno and the Nevada Historical Society. The Family History Library has a copy of the schedules for 14 counties (Family History Library Fiche 6016536-53) and a microfiche index.
  • 1864 Counties: Nye[10]
  • 1863 Counties: Lander [11] The Nevada State Library and Archives also has a census for Lander County for 1863.
  • 1862 Counties: Excluding St. Mary's[12] Copies of an 1862 territorial census are available at the Nevada Historical Society, the Nevada State Library and Archives. This census includes Douglas, Lyon, Ormsby, Storey, and Washoe counties, and part of Humboldt County. The schedules have been filmed and are available at several Nevada repositories. The information in this census varies with each county.
  • 1861 Counties: All[13]

Territorial and State The 1850 and 1860 federal censuses and the 1850 and 1860 mortality schedules for Utah Territory include present-day Nevada. The Family History Library has copies of the schedules and the indexes to them.

Existing and lost censuses

For a list of available and missing Nevada censuses, click here.

Why use a census?

A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.

More about censuses

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:

Sources and footnotes

  1. FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
  2. Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. In the 1860 federal census Nevada was enumerated as part of Utah Territory.
  9. State Census Register: State and County Census Register Located at the Family History Library. (Salt Lake City: FHL, 2005), 2: 784-785.
  10. State Census Register: State and County Census Register Located at the Family History Library. (Salt Lake City: FHL, 2005), 2: 783.
  11. State Census Register: State and County Census Register Located at the Family History Library. (Salt Lake City: FHL, 2005), 2: 782.
  12. State Census Register: State and County Census Register Located at the Family History Library. (Salt Lake City: FHL, 2005), 2: 781.
  13. State Census Register: State and County Census Register Located at the Family History Library. (Salt Lake City: FHL, 2005), 2: 780.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2012, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 4,651 times.