New Sleaford, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from New Sleaford, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to New Sleaford, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

New Sleaford, Lincolnshire
Sleaford St Denys Lincolnshire.jpg
Sleaford St Denys Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Flaxwell
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Sleaford
Registration District Sleaford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aswardhurn with Lafford
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Sleaford; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SLEAFORD, NEW (St. Denis), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the wapentake of Flaxwell, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 18 miles (S. S. E.) from Lincoln, and 116 (N. by W.) from London. There are places of worship for the Connexion of the Countess of Huntingdon, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

New Sleaford St Denys or Denis is an Ancient Parish for the market town of Sleaford.

The present church was built in 1271 with a local merchant as patron. The church has undergone restoration in subsequent centuries and the churchyard was enlarged at the end of the 18th century.

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Sleaford sub District of Sleaford registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sleaford, New

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438759.


See Lincolnshire Census

Genealogy

Turland, Michael.  A Victorian Dynasty in the Building and Contracting Industry.  History and family tree of William Kirk and wife unknown, with the following surnames; Knight, Chatwin, Parry, Peake, Yerburgh, Angrave, Stanley, Murr, Clay, Lee, Vickers, Patterson, Snow, Heath, Ingoldby, Cottingham, from 1749-1906.  Article in Linolnshire Family History Magazine, vol.18.no.2. pages 81-86, FHL Ref. 942.53 D25Lf

Poor Law Unions

Sleaford Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/NewSleaford/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 08 September 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 January 2016, at 04:54.
  • This page has been accessed 2,402 times.