New Wortley, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to New Wortley, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|New Wortley, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Carlton Gilbert Union|
|Parish registers: 1851|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1851|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
NEW WORTLEY or WORTLEY, a chapelry, in the parish of St. Peter, liberty of the borough of Leeds, W. riding of York, 2 miles (W. S. W.) from Leeds. There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
New Wortley, Yorkshire Genealogy chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|NEW WORTLEY CHAPELRY Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding New Wortley and comprising the whole ancient parish of Leeds to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the LEEDS page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1603.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464292.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 687-692. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
- This page was last modified on 14 May 2015, at 19:37.
- This page has been accessed 2,304 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News