Newcastle under Lyme St George, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Newcastle under Lyme St George, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newcastle under Lyme St George, Staffordshire
Newcastle under Lyme St George Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newcastle Under Lyme
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Newcastle under Lyme PLU
Registration District Newcastle under Lyme
Records begin
Parish registers: 1829
Bishop's Transcripts: 1829
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle under Lyme
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Newcastle under Lyme St George is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1832 from Newcastle under Lyme Ecclesiastical Parish.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See also Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Newcastle under Lyme St George parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
NEWCASTLE UNDER LYME ST GEORGE PARISH (1720) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1832-1868

1829-1868
NBI

1720-1837

Newcastle under Lyme St George was formed in 1832 formerly a chapelry of  Newcastle under Lyme, Staffordshire

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1832-1998 Mar 1837-1967 Bur 1829-1959
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1832-1874 Mar None Bur 1829-1874

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474632.

Poor Law Unions

Newcastle under Lyme Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. maps.familysearch.org/
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 September 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,013 times.