Newhall, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Newhall, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Newhall, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newhall, Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Repton and Gresley
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Burton upon Trent PLU
Registration District Burton upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1833
Bishop's Transcripts: 1833
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hartshorn
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NEWHALL, a village and a chapelry in Stapenhill parish, Derby. The village stands near Swadlincote r.station, 1½ mile N W of the boundary with Leicester, and 3½ S E of Burton-upon-Trent. The chapelry was constituted in 1845. There are a Wesleyan chapel.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Staffordshire BMD includes registration at Burton upon Trent Registration District

Church records

Newhall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Newhall st John the Evangelist (Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1878-1912   NONE
1845-1895   NONE
1833-1912   NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Transcripts series may be found at http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~brett/parregs.htm from 1833.

Non Conformist Churches

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241295.


Poor Law Unions

Burton upon Trent Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Newhall (see Stanton Newhall) on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 28 June 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 12:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,269 times.