Newington, OxfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes Guide to Newington, Oxfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newington, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ewelme
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Wallingford PLU
Registration District Henley; Wallingford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1572
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cuddesdon
Diocese Pre-1846 - None; Post-1845 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Monks Risborough; Court of the Peculiar of Banbury; Court of the Peculiar of Aylesbury
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NEWINGTON (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Wallingford, hundred of Ewelme, county of Oxford, 5 miles (N.) from the town of Wallingford. [1]

= Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Newington, Oxfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[2]
Newington, Oxfordshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
OFHS 1572-1869
1572-1869
1572-1869


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474574.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 389-393. Date accessed: 24 September 2012.
  2. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:02.
  • This page has been accessed 370 times.