Trelawnyd, Flintshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Newmarket, Flintshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngFlintshireGotoarrow.pngTrelawnyd

A guide to genealogy in Trelawnyd, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Trelawnyd is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Flintshire, Wales. It is in the community of Trelawnyd and Gwaenysgor.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Flintshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Clwyd. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Flintshire.

The redundant English name of Newmarket can often be seen in older documents.

Contents

History

"NEWMARKET, a parish in the Media division of the hundred of Prestatyn, county of Flint, on the old line of road between Chester and Holyhead, 6 miles (W.N.W.) from Holywell, containing 631 inhabitants. In Pope Nicholas' Taxation, this place is called Rywlyvnwyd, by which name it is also mentioned in a record so late as the middle of the sixteenth century, having been formerly a chapelry in the parish of Dyserth. According to Mr. Pennant, its ancient name was Trelawnyd, "for which," says the distinguished antiquary, "I can find no satisfactory reason." ... Newmarket has greatly declined from its former consequence, and presents now only the appearance of a village, though of considerable size." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833, Samuel Lewis]

For more information on Trelawnyd see: Genuki - Trelawnyd

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Flintshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Clwyd
from 1 April 1996 Flintshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.

  • FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
  • findmypast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.



Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:30.
  • This page has been accessed 885 times.