Newport, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Newport, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Barnstaple PLU|
|Parish registers: 1830|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1854|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Bishop of Exeter (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
NEWPORT, a populous hamlet, in the parish of Bishop's-Tawton, union of Barnstaple, hundred of South Molton, Braunton and N. divisions of Devon, ¼ of a mile (S. by E.) from Barnstaple. This village is beautifully situated near Barnstaple bay, of which, with the bridge of Barnstaple and the river Taw, it commands some pleasing views. A chapel was erected in 1828 at an expense of £1300, a neat building containing 600 sittings. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241317.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Newport (see in Bishops Tawton) on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 18 February 2015, at 15:46.
- This page has been accessed 823 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More