Newstead Priory, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Newstead Priory, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Newstead Priory, Nottinghamshire|
|Poor Law Union||Basford|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
NEWSTEAD-PRIORY, an extra-parochial liberty in Basford district, Notts; adjacent to the Nottingham and Mansfield railway, S W of Sherwood forest, and 5 miles S of Mansfield. It has a station on .the railway, private on most days, but public on Saturdays.
Newstead Priory is an extra parochial area; Newstead Abbey which was formed from the original priory was Lord Byron's ancestral home.
Byron described the ruined priory:
"A glorious remnant of the Gothic pile
stood half apart
In a grand arch which once screened many an aisle.
These last had disappeareda loss to art:
The first yet frowned superbly o'er the soil,
And kindled feelings in the roughest heart,
Which mourned the power of Time's or Tempest's march,
In gazing on that venerable arch."
For history of Newstead abbey see Newstead abbey Wikipedia
Newstead Colliery Village Burial Ground. . A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions, dating from 1885, giving surname, given names, date of death and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 57, pages 43-45, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district
Newstead Priory and Abbey is an extra parochial area.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Newstead Priory
War Memorial - Newstead Colliery Village. Transcription of the W.W.1 and 2 War Memorial, giving the surname, initial of the given name, and the Battalion they belonged to. Article in The Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol.87, page 40, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438906.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 19:18.
- This page has been accessed 1,144 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News