Newtimber, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Newtimber St+John+the+Baptist West+Sussex.JPG

Contents

Parish History

NEW-TIMBER (St. John the Evangelist), a parish, in the union of Cuckfield, hundred of Poynings, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 7 miles (N. N. W.) from Brighton.[1]


Newtimber St John the Evangelist is an Ancient Parish in West Sussex. The district is now called Nyetimber and is in the Arun district of West Sussex.

Church History Newtimber St John

The Parish Church of St John the Evangelist has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building

Newtimber Sussex Online Parish Clerks

See also Pagham Wikipedia List of places of worship in Arun and  A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 403-404. here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was part of Cuckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
01243 642122

Church records

Newtimber, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Newtimber, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1558-1877 1558-1873

Newtimber St John the Evangelist

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap1558-1670, 1733-1997 Marr 1558-1616, 1733-1998 Bur 1588-1680,1733-1997 Bishop's Transcripts 1606-1894

Contact West Sussex Record Office 3 Orchard Street Chichester West Sussex
PO19 1DD
Phone: 01243 753602
Fax: 01243 533959
Email: records.office@westsussex.gov.uk

Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Newtimber

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464160.

FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK

[2] to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.


Poor Law Unions

Cuckfield Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 403-404. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 18:55.
  • This page has been accessed 473 times.