Newton All Saints, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Newton All Saints, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

All Saints Newton Heath.jpg


Contents

Chapel History

NEWTON (All Saints), a parochial chapelry, in the parish and union of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys, Lancashire, hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire; comprising the townships of Bradford, Droylsden, Failsworth, Newton, and Moston, 2 miles northeast by east from Manchester. The former chapel, dedicated to All Saints, and built prior to 1650, fell down on the 2nd of May, 1808 and was rebuilt by 1848. The townships of Droylsden and Failsworth have lately been constituted ecclesiastical parishes, under the provisions of the act 6th and 7th Victoria. St Marys Droylsden was consecrated and opened for worship in August, 1846, and Failsworth St John was erected by 1845. The chapels of St Mary Moston and Bradford Christ Church opened respectively in 1867 and 1862. Other places in the chapelry include: Kirkmanshulme and Culcheth.

The modern parish was created in 1997 when united with St. Wilfred and St. Anne's to form the parish of Newton Heath. There are several places of worship for dissenters; and numerous schools.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records 

Newton All Saints, plus the chapelries of Newton Heath St Ann, Newton Heath St Augustine, Newton Heath St Mark, Old Newton Heath St Mark, Online transcriptions for Chorlton cum Hardy St Clement Chapelry exist, as well as those for the ancient parish of Manchester Our Lady, St George, and St Denys--to which it was attached. Links to online baptisms, marriages and burials registers are displayed below and located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years: 

FS =FamilySearch.org
LOPCLancashire Online Parish Clerk
FMP =  FMP = FindMyPast
LBMDLancashire BMD
AC = Ancestry.co.uk

 

NEWTON ALL SAINTS Chapelry (1655) Indexes - (sometimes referred to as "Newton-Heath"; see also Birch in Rusholme)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1655-1844 1837-1928 1672-1950
LOPC 1831-1837 None  None
LBMD 1837-1908 1837-1985 1837-1883
NEWTON HEATH ST ANN Chapelry (1876) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1876-1931 - part. 1883-1940 - part. None
LOPC 1837-1908 - see Newton All Saints  1883-1985 - see Newton All Saints 1837-1883 - see Newton All Saints 
LBMD 1883-1971
NEWTON HEATH ST AUGUSTINE Chapelry (1881) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1881-1930 - part. 1889-1951 - part. None
LOPC 1837-1908 - see Newton All Saints 1881-1985 - see Newton All Saints 1837-1883 - see Newton All Saints
NEWTON HEATH ST MARK Chapelry (1881) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC 1837-1908 - see Newton All Saints  1881-1985 -  see Newton All Saints  1837-1883 - see Newton All Saints
LBMD None 1892-1950 None
(OLD) NEWTON ST MARK Chapelry (1885) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LBMD None 1885-1958 None

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes 

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889  None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881 
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616

To view a full list of the (over 150) chapelries and district churches in the ancient parish of Manchester and their respective links to online transcriptions of their baptisms, marriages and burials, be sure to visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL) OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.

Original Records

The original parish (chapelry) registers for All Saints' Church, Newton, 1655-1950 are housed at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England and formerly held at manchester Central Lirbrary (see Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: M362/1/1/1-3, M362/2/1-8, M362/3/1-5, M362/1/4/1-13, M362/1/5/1-3).

FamilySearch has microfilmed these registers and transcribed data from these microfilm copies of the original registers are available mostly online the website Newton's more modern-built chapel registers are not yet all online. Newton (Heath), is a chapelry in Manchester parish.
FamilySearch's microfilmed copies and their respective microfilm numbers for Newton All Saints are listed below:

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1655-1723, marriages, 1682-1727, burials, 1679-1726. Baptisms, 1723-1755, marriages, 1729-1754, burials, 1728-1755. Baptisms and burials, 1756-1782. Baptisms, 1793-July 1837.
FHL BRITISH Film
2357270
Baptisms, July 1837-December 1913.
FHL BRITISH Film
2357271
Baptisms, November 1913-1941. Marriages, 1837-June 1886.
FHL BRITISH Film
2357272
Marriages, June 1886-August 1928.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2357273
Marriages, August 1928-1936. Burials, 1793-1812; baptisms, 1812-1816. Burials, 1813-1854.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2357274
Burials, October 1854-December 1912.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2357298
Burials, December 1912-1941. Pauper burials, 1861-1868. Burials, 1941-1950.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2357526 Items 1 - 6


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438736.


Poor Law Unions

Manchester Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 404-407. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.
  2. J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 April 2014, at 03:04.
  • This page has been accessed 1,812 times.