Newton Regis, WarwickshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Newton Regis, Warwickshire
Newton Regis - Parish Church .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hemlingford
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Tamworth PLU
Registration District Tamworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1591
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arden
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1837 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory); Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NEWTON-IN-THE-THISTLES, or Newton-Regis (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Tamworth, Tamworth division of the hundred of Hemlingford, N. division of the county of Warwick, 5¾ miles (N. E. by E.) from the town of Tamworth. The parish is the most northern in the county, surrounded by portions of Stafford, Derby, and Leicester; it is intersected by the road from Tamworth to Ashby. The living is a rectory, valued in the king's books at £14. 1. 5½.; net income, £300; patrons, Sir R. Burdett, Bart., and W. P. Inge, Esq., the former for two turns, and the latter for one. The tithes were commuted for land and a corn-rent in 1795; the glebe comprises 33½ acres. The church is an ancient structure.[1]

NEWTON-REGIS, or Newton-in-the-Thistles, a village and a parish in the district of Tamworth and county of Warwick. The village stands within 1½ mile of the boundaries with Stafford and Leicester, 3 N N E of Polesworth r. station, and 5¼ E N E of Tamworth; and has a post-office under Tamworth. Date accessed and adapted: 13 November 2013.[2]

Additional information:

Newton Regis is an Ancient Parish in the county of Warwickshire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Newton Regis, Warwickshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[3][4]
Newton Regis, Warwickshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464172.

Poor Law Unions

Tamworth Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 13 November 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 13 November 2013.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  4. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 July 2014, at 15:56.
  • This page has been accessed 637 times.