Newton Tony, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Newton Tony, Wiltshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Wiltshire Gotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Newton Tony, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Newton Tony, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amesbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Amesbury PLU
Registration District Amesbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1568
Bishop's Transcripts: 1622
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NEWTON-TONEY, a parish, in the union and hundred of Amesbury, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S. divisions of Wiltshire, four miles (E. by S.) from Amesbury. This parish, is on the road from Salisbury to Malmesbury.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Newton Tony parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[6]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[7]
NEWTON TONY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1906


IGI 1568-1885 1568-1895
JOIN
1591-1812

NBI

1568-1837
NIM 1586-1837
1591-1837
1568-1837
TGEN
1591-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464192.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) pp. 413-415. Date accessed: 07 October 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  4. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  6. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  7. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2015, at 20:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,306 times.