Newtyle, Angus, Scotland GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Parish # 314
This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Newtyle. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies for Locating Births, Marriages and Deaths|Scotland: Research Strategies.
NEWTYLE, a parish, in the county of Forfar; 2¼ miles (S. by E.) from Meigle. This place is conjectured to have taken its name from the slate, or material for tiles, found in the hills of the parish. The church accommodates 550 persons with sittings, but is a very plain edifice, erected in 1767. There is a place of worship for members of the United Secession.
The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.
A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.
Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Newtyle, as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:
|| FHL Film Number
|| Surname Indexes|
|| 6086580 (12 fiche)|
The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.
The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.
Established Church—Old Parochial Registers
| Record Type
|| Years Covered
|| FHL Film Number|
Condition of Original Registers—
Indexed: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index available on computers at the Family History Library and family history centers. The records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index.
Births: The first entry is dated 1701 and there are only four entries from June 1754–January 1757. The record is defective for 1772. Mothers’ names are not recorded until September 1744.
Marriages: The marriage record is blank from June 1744–July 1747 and July 1752–June 1756. There is only one entry each for 1748, 1757, 1759 and 1766, respectively and the record is blank from October 1771–February 1773.
Deaths: There are only four entries from December 1774–March 1777.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.
Established Church—Kirk Session Records
Minutes 1648–1657, 1663–1807, 1825–1950
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/284.
Nonconformist Church Records
A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.
Newtyle United Associate Presbyterian Church
The formation of the railway from Dundee to Newtyle rapidly increased the village of Newtyle, and rendered it eligible for a Secession place of worship. The United Associate Presbytery of Forfar, fixed upon it as a preaching station in their home missionary operations, and supplied it with sermon by preachers in their connection, 1835. A congregation was organized, and a church opened in 1836.
Source: Annals and Statistics of the United Presbyterian Church, by Rev. William MacKelvie, D.D., pub. 1873. Film #477618. More details may be given in the source.
Session Minutes 1836–1872
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH3/247.
Newtyle Free Church
In 1842 two Dundee ministers began religious meetings here. These were held in various places in the village until a church was built and opened in 1844. Owing largely to the unsuccessful attempts made to unite Newtyle and Meigle in a single charge, Newtyle was not sanctioned as a separate charge until 1862. The manse was built in 1871 and a new church in 1900. The parish suffered from depopulation; but grew in favor as a summer resort.
Membership: 1866, 171; 1900, 77.
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D., 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details may be given in the source.
Various Minutes 1844–1938
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH3/248.
Civil Registration Records
Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.
Newtyle was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of St.Andrews until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Dundee. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of [County] and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of St.Andrews.
The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Angus. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Angus and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'
Read more about Scotland Probate Records.
Return to Angus Parishes
- This page was last modified on 24 June 2015, at 16:27.
- This page has been accessed 1,936 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News