Ninebanks, Northumberland or West Allen and Carr Shield NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Contents

Ninebanks St Mark Northumberland.jpg

Parish History

NINEBANKS, a chapelry, in the parish of Allendale, union of Hexham, S. division of Tindale ward and of Northumberland, 10 miles (S. W.) from Haydon-Bridge. This place was the property of the Auckland family, of whose mansion a tower is still remaining. On several parts of the tower are armorial bearings; and from the inverted position of these arms, it would appear that the building, itself ancient, was erected with the materials of one still older. The chapel was rebuilt, and the cemetery enlarged, about 1816. The Wesleyans have a place of worship.[1]

Additional information:

St Mark's, Ninebanks (or West Allen) was built in 1764 as a chapel of ease in Allendale Parish, but in 1767 it became a 'district parish'. The church was rebuilt in 1813 and again in 1871. When the first vicar was appointed in 1867, he was also given charge of Christ Church at Carr Shield.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Parish Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/195 1841-1857 Ninebanks High West Allen Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records and additionally for Carr Shield or high West Allen DDR/EA/PBT/2/49 1842-1852 .

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Ninebanks, St Mark: Records of baptisms 1767-1998, marriages 1767-1957, banns 1924-1985 and burials 1767-1998 are available at  Northumberland Collections Service.Bishop's Transcripts for the periods 1767-1811, 1813-1835 and 1837-1841 are deposited at the  Borthwick Institute University of York. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1767-1875 and marriages (1767-1877 with gaps) for this parish, but it is not included in Boyd's Marriage Index. For earlier entries see Allendale, St Cuthbert.
Carrshield, Christ Church: Records of baptisms 1823-1978, marriages 1900-1904 and burials 1823-1982 (at Chapel House) are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Bishops' Transcripts for the periods 1823-1837 and 1839-1841 are deposited at the Borthwick Institute University of York. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1823-1875 for Carrshield, but it is not included in Boyd's Marriage Index. A transcript of monumental inscriptions (microfiche TN73) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) also includes baptisms 1823-1841 for "West Allen", but this is probably a duplication of the material referred to above.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438895.

Poor Law Unions

Hexham Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 August 2013.

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 March 2014, at 03:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,426 times.