Norbury, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Norbury, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Norbury St Mary and St Barlok Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Uttoxeter PLU|
|Parish registers: 1686|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1673|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Norbury, St Mary and St Barlock, is an Ancient Parish in the county of Derbyshire. Snelston, Derbyshireis a chapelry of Norbury. Other places in the parish include: Roston. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Norbury parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Norbury St Mary the Virgin (1686) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1686-1912
Norbury St Mary and St Barlock included a parochial chapelry at Snelston, Derbyshire until 1871
Derbyshire Record Office reference D641 has deposited registers Bap 1686-1981 Mar 1686-1980 Burials 1686-1912 Banns 1824-1919
Norbury and Roston
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1673-1848 Mar 1673-1848 Burials 1673-1848 Missing all events 1838-1847
- Primitive Methodist
- Roman Catholic
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241288.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Norbury on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 5 June 2015, at 13:11.
- This page has been accessed 1,564 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News