Nordland County, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Nordland County, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Nordland (help·info) is a county in Norway, bordering Troms in the north, Nord-Trøndelag in the south, Norrbottens län in Sweden to the east, Västerbottens län to the southeast, and the Atlantic Ocean (Norwegian Sea) to the west. The county was formerly known as Nordlandene amt. The county administration is in Bodø. The remote Arctic island of Jan Mayen has been administered from Nordland since 1995.
Nordland is located along the northwestern coast of the Scandinavian peninsula in North Norway. Due to the large distance to the densely populated parts of Europe, this is one of the least polluted areas in Europe. Nordland has a very mild climate for the high latitude.
Family History Resources
Norwegian American Bygdelagenes Fellesraad
Government Offices and Sites
Cities, Parishes, Clerical Districts in Nordland County
The bailiff and the magistrates's census (scanned)
1886 and 1838 land registers are found at The Norwegian Historical Data Centre. These are Excel files, which can be downloaded. The give the name of the farm, the farm owner, and the amount of tax. Both farms and sub-farms are included.
Return to Norway Page
- This page was last modified on 27 May 2015, at 17:26.
- This page has been accessed 9,759 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News