Normanton, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Normanton, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Normanton, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Normanton, Derbyshire
Normaton St Giles Derby.jpg
Normaton St Giles Derby
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Repton and Gresley
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Shardlow
Registration District Shardlow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1769; For more records see Derby St Peter
Bishop's Transcripts: 1810
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Derby
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office


Parish History

Normantonchapelry in the parish of Derby St Peter, and became a parish in the early 1800's. Parts of the parish were transferred to Derby, St Chad, Derbyshire in 1881 and Derby St Bartholomew in 1927. Included in this parish until the formation of a separate parish were Sinfin, St Stephen, Derbyshire. Independents and Primitive Methodists have places of worship. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Normanton registration became part of Derby registration district post 1928

Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).

Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.

Church records

Normanton Chpelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
Normanton St Giles (1807) Chapelry Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG None None None None 1790-1799 None

Normanton St Giles has a small register of marriages which pre date the separate registers for the parish which begin in 1807. Marriages therefore took place here but Bap and burials may need to be sought in the mother parish register Derby St Peter, Derbyshire

Derbyshire Record Office reference D3611 has deposited registers Bap 1807-1891 Mar 1769-1810, 1826-1987 Burials 1807-1882 Banns 1965-1988

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1813-1869 Mar 1826-1836 Burials 1813-1869

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241295.

Poor Law Unions

Shardlow Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Normanton on GENUKI

South Normanton on GENUKI

Temple Normanton on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 421-423. Date accessed: 13 May 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2015, at 13:04.
  • This page has been accessed 1,386 times.