Normanton, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Normanton, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Normanton, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Normanton, Lincolnshire
St+Nicholas Normanton Lincolnshire.JPG
St+Nicholas Normanton Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Loveden
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Grantham PLU
Registration District Grantham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1670
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Loveden
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NORMANTON, a parish in Grantham district, Lincoln; 2¼ miles W of Ermine-street, 2¼ N N E of Honington r. station, and 7 N N E of Grantham. It has a post-office under Grantham.[1]

Additional information:

St Nicholas' Church, Normanton, is a redundant Anglican church in Normanton-on-Cliffe, Lincolnshire, England. It has been designated by English Heritage as a Grade II* listed building and is under the care of the Churches Conservation Trust. It stands beside the road between Grantham and Lincoln.

The church dates from the 11th century, with additions and alterations made during each of the following four centuries. Further changes were made in 1845 when the vestry was added, and the chancel and the north wall of the nave were largely rebuilt. The church was declared redundant in February 1974.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Normanton Par 1 will identify available images.

Search FamilySearch Catalogue Normanton

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438758.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Grantham Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Normanton/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 September 2013.



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,151 times.