North Bradley Christ Church, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.pngWiltshire Parishes

Guide to North Bradley Christ Church, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

North Bradley Christ Church, Wiltshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Whorwelsdown
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Westbury and Whorwellsdown
Registration District Westbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1853
Bishop's Transcripts: 1852
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Potterne
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office


Parish History

ROAD-HILL, a chapelry in North Bradley parish, Wiltshire; adjacent to Road in Somerset, and 3 miles N W by W of Westbury railway station.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464203.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2015, at 20:49.
  • This page has been accessed 1,503 times.