North Clifton, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Clifton St+George+the+Martyr Nottinghamshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

CLIFTON, NORTH (St. George), a parish, in the union, and N. division of the wapentake, of Newark, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 12 miles (N. by E.) from Newark; containing, with the township of South Clifton, the chapelry of Harby, and the hamlet of Spalford. There is a chapel of ease at Harby, where also in South Clifton, are places of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

North Clifton St George the Martyr is an Ancient parish which included in its boundaries Harby, Spalford, and South Clifton. Part of the parish boundary forms the county boundary with Newton on Trent, Lincolnshire

The church of St George the Martyr North Clifton is 13th century in origin and has been designated a grade II* listed building by English Heritage. British listed building

Church history

See also: Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 635-639. here

From this parish was formed:

Harby All Saints with Swinethorpe in 1875. Harby with Swinethorpe All Saints has been researched by the Southwell and Nottingham Church History project Harby with Swinethorpe All Saints

The church of Harby All Saints has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed bulding

See also Harby Nottinghamshire Wikipedia


Harby All Saints Nottinghamshire.jpg


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district

Certificates can be obtained from:

Newark
The Register Office
County Offices
Balderton Gate
Newark
NG24 1UW
01636 705455
01636 679259
newarkro.cc@nottscc.gov.uk

Church records

North Clifton, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
NORTH CLIFTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives North Clifton St George the Martyr Baptisms 1614-1902 Marriages 1654-1901 Burials 1539-1901 Bishop's transcripts 1600-1846

Harby All Saints with Swinethorpe Baptisms 1867-1901 Marriages 1867-1901 Burials 1868-1901
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Clifton, North

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438907.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Newark Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 08 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:20.
  • This page has been accessed 794 times.