North Hinksey, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from North Hinksey, Berkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes 

Guide to North Hinksey, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

North Hinksey, Berkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hormer
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Abingdon
Registration District Abingdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1703
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Oxford
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post 1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office


Parish History

HINKSEY, NORTH (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Abingdon, hundred of Hormer, county of Berks, 1½ miles west of the city of Oxford. This parish, sometimes called Ferry Hinksey, is situated on the western bank of the Isis. Both North and South Hinksey were formerly chapelries in the parish of Cumner (all of which, see). [1] Bishop's transcripts of baptisms commence from as early as the year 1607.

HINKSEY (NORTH), or Ferry-Hinksey, a village and a parish in Abingdon district, Berks. The village stands on the river Isis, at the boundary with Oxfordshire, ½ a mile SW of Oxford r. station; is reached, from Oxford, by a ferry. [2]

North Hinksey is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of North Hinksey, Oxfordshire, partly in Berkshire and partly in Oxfordshire; created in 1726 from chapelry in Cumnor Ancient Parish. See also Oxford St Aldgate and Oxford Christchurch.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

North Hinksey, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
North Hinksey, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1607-1829
1607-1829 (gaps)

IGI 1703-1875 1703-1885
OFHS 1677-1944

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. FamilySearch has microfilmed both the parish registers (from 1703) and the Bishop's transcripts (from 1607, with some missing years) for North Hinksey. Most of the data content has been indexed and published online at FamilySearch for the years 1607-1885.

The parish records and bishop transcripts available from the Family History Library and at Family History Centers on microfilm are listed here in the catalog.

Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241201.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


North Hinksey in GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 514-518. Adapted. Date accessed: 10 April 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Adapted. Accessed: 17 April 2013.
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 31 January 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 January 2014.
  5. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.

North Hinksey - Berkshire Family History Society

UK Genealgoy Archives



Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 May 2015, at 08:55.
  • This page has been accessed 6,205 times.