North Nibley, Gloucestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from North Nibley, Gloucestershire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to North Nibley, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

North Nibley, Gloucestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Berkeley
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Dursley
Registration District Dursley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1567
Bishop's Transcripts: 1578
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dursley
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office


Parish History

NIBLEY, NORTH (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Dursley, Upper division of the hundred of Berkeley, W. division of the county of Gloucester, 2½ miles (N. W.) from Wotton-under-Edge. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

North Nibley, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
IARC = Internet Archive - free[7]
North Nibley, Gloucestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1567-1812 1567-1812 1567-1753 1567-1753 1567-1812 1567-1812

IARC 1650-1799 (gaps) 1650-1799 (gaps) 1650-1799 (gaps)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288761.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 415-416. Date accessed: 08 July 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  6. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. 'Extracts from the North Nibley Parish Registers, 1650-1795,' in Gloucestershire Notes and Queries, Vol. 1 (1881):364-365. Digitised by Internet Archive - free.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 18:36.
  • This page has been accessed 2,792 times.