North Petherwin, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from North Petherwin, Devon)

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to North Petherwin, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

North Petherwin, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Black Torrington
County Devon
Poor Law Union Launceston
Registration District Launceston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1611
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trigg Major
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office


Parish History

PETHERWIN, NORTH (St. Paternus), a parish, in the union of Launceston, hundred of Black Torrington, Lifton and N. divisions of Devon, 4½ miles (N. W.) from Launceston. The church is a spacious structure, of which the greater portion appears to have been built about the time of Edward III.; but some Norman details prove that the original church was of still more ancient construction. There are places of worship for Bible Christians, Methodists, and Wesleyans.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

North Petherwin, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
North Petherwin, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1676-1805



Non-Conformist Churches
  • Bible Christian Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Association

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241327.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


North Petherwin on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 558-564. Date accessed 23 July 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 November 2015, at 00:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,435 times.