North Rauceby with South Rauceby, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to North Rauceby with South Rauceby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

North Rauceby with South Rauceby, Lincolnshire
North Rauceby St Peter Lincolnshire.jpg
North Rauceby St Peter Lincolnshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Flaxwell
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Sleaford PLU
Registration District Sleaford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1688
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aswardhurn with Lafford
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

RAUCEBY, NORTH and SOUTH (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Sleaford, wapentake of Flaxwell, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 3½ miles (W.) from Sleaford. North and South Rauceby are about half a mile apart.[1]

Additional information:

North Rauceby St Peter is an Ecclesiastical Parish which was formed in the 17th century by uniting the earlier North Rauceby and South Rauceby Ancient Parishes.

The church was built in the 12th century of local Ancaster stone and has undergone additions and restoration in subsequent centuries including the 1853 rebuilding.

South Rauceby St James was demolished before 1640 and no trace of it is reported in the Victorian period. One of many Ancient parishes to be lost following the Reformation.

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the leadenham sub district of Sleaford Registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms North and South Rauceby Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Newton

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438758.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Sleaford Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Rauceby/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 September 2013.



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 May 2015, at 22:57.
  • This page has been accessed 1,195 times.